Week 4 Reflection

This week I fell behind in the course. I was offered a last minutes opportunity to attend a math and science camp in Wrangell, AK. Unfortunately there was very limited Internet because there were 40 teachers with multiple devices trying to connect to Wi-Fi. I am back and trying to catch up. The camp was a great experience. I was able to meet and collaborate with teachers from southeast Alaska. In order to get credit for the camp we were tasked with creating a unit on the concepts we were learning about at the camp. The group I was in used probes and sensors to test water properties. At first I was skeptical because I wasn’t sure my district had the necessary probes and sensors, but I was told by my former ITT supervisor that my district does have the probes and sensors that I could use in a classroom.

This week’s essential question had my gears spinning. For the 2015-16 school year I am not sure what grade level I will be teaching, so it is hard to wrap my head around what projects I might want to incorporate. However, after reading the blogs of my peers I am feeling inspired.   There were many good ideas both for elementary and secondary students. I just need to bunker down and search the Internet for ideas, like Cindy blogged there are many great ideas out there. This week in replying to the blogs of my peers I tried to add additional resources for them. I love that we get to share tech resources in this course and I can’t wait to hear about my peers’ makerspaces.

Leave a Reply

