Week 6 Reflection

This week’s question was hard for me to conceptualize, however I learned a lot in reading my peer’s blogs/ideas. I am not familiar with many tools, so thinking of things to stock in my makerspace was difficult. I learned a lot from reading Scott’s blog. I gained insight into tools I should stock. I also learned a lot from reading Cindy’s blog. Her documents were well organized and easy to read. I am hoping I can write up my documents that well in the near future. Cindy is also sharing some cool tech gadgets, like squishy circuits and LED throwies. She also shared information on the cool maker things happening in her district and the resources she can collaborate with, it was aspiring to read. I really gained ideas from all the blogs this week. I have been jotting down materials or ideas that I think I can use in my makerspace. This week most of my replies to my peers were to ask question or get more knowledge for my makerspace. For example I asked Scott about his green screen wall.

In doing some research for my club planning documents I found some useful resources. An elementary school in Missouri, Lewis and Clark Elementary has a library makerspace. They have a website that is full of great makerspace websites and resources. Their website can be found here: http://lc-lps-ca.schoolloop.com/MakerSpace.  The Lewis and Clark librarian also has a blog, Lewis and Clark Learns, where the librarian shares what is going on in their makerspace. http://lewisandclarkreads.blogspot.com/search/label/Genius%20Hour

Here is a video that shares their students’ projects:

I have some great ideas and have learned many things this week, now it’s just a matter of getting it all down into documents for my maker club.

References:

Lewis and Clark Elementary: MakerSpace. Retrieved June 29, 2015, from http://lc-lps-ca.schoolloop.com/makerspace

Rosheim, A. (2015, March 31). Genius hour 2015. [Video]. Retrieved June 26, 2015, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pOSvpd8rByo

Rosheim, A. (2015). Lewis and clark learns. [Blog]. Retrieved June 26, 2015 from, http://lewisandclarkreads.blogspot.com/search/label/Genius%20Hour

Leave a Reply

