#uasrobotics Week 9

What would you need to coordinate a “Maker Day” for your school?

WP_20150715_004WP_20150715_005When I think of a “Maker Day” and how to chapter eleven of Invent To Learn: Making, Tinkering, and Engineering in the Classroom (Martinez & Stager 2013) describes When I think of a “Maker Day” and how to chapter eleven of Invent To Learn: Making, Tinkering, and Engineering in the Classroom (Martinez & Stager 2013) describes a “Maker Day”, I envision it being similar to a children’s science museum.  With exhibits to look at (student’s completed projects), guided activities with all the necessary materials, and a “free” explore WP_20150715_003WP_20150715_001area. According to Martinez & Stager (2013), “You will want one large space as the “midway” and perhaps classrooms for short presentations or more formal demonstrations. Science labs, fab labs, or a stage may also be useful.” At the children’s museum in Fairbanks there are lots of different activities for students to explore, play and tinker. They have a water table, an air tube, and an area stocked with old electronics where students can bang away and take apart. I see my first maker day being more of a school maker night. I envision a maker experience that takes place after school for about 2-3 hours with various fluid stations for participants to complete. An area/room or two devoted to technology, for example Scratch, Code.org, etc. An area/room devoted to “free” making, similar to a “Maker Playground” from chapter eleven, the area would be stocked with various materials where participants could build and create what they want. As stated by Martinez & Stager (2013), “You may also just have a “Maker Playground” area where attendees are free to invent and create with a wide assortment of arts and craft materials, broken toys, LEDs, batteries, hunks of wood, spools, film canisters, hammers, nails, glue guns, glue sticks, colored duct tape, paper/ plastic cups, tiles, boxes, paper bags, pipe cleaners, coat hangers, construction paper, streamers, modeling clay, pipe cleaners, little plastic creatures, stickers, paint, etc.”  Lastly there would be an area/room devoted to showcasing students’ completed projects

If I were to host a maker day at my school things I would need would be:

  • Support from my Principal. I would be using the school, so I would need to get approval from the Principal. I would also need the Principals support to find volunteers to help organize and run the event and supplies for the maker day activities.
  • A large space i.e. the Gym or the many classrooms in the school.
  • Determine whether I needed funding for materials/supplies. I would definitely want technology. I would need to figure out whether my district already has the necessary technology or if I could purchase it. For example Spheros, Little Bits, Arduino, etc. I also would want to make sure I had enough supplies for maker day attendees to build.
  • Stations – I envision a space with a variety of fluid stations where volunteers are showing attendees how to create something. Then giving the attendees time to create and build and when attendees are ready to move on to the next station they can. As stated by Martinez & Stager (2013), “Show people how to do something and then let them do it. This isn’t a real estate seminar or boring school class. Let attendees create lots of memories throughout the day by having as many experiences as possible.”
  • Food- I would want to supply a snack or have a snack station where participants could make a snack.
  • Educational materials – I would supply a flyer or brochure to inform participants about the history of and the importance of makerspaces and the maker movement.
  • Advertisement- I would need to create flyers to send home with students to inform families about the maker night.

Resources:

Martinez, S., & Stager, G. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom. Constructing Modern Knowledge Press.

4 thoughts on “#uasrobotics Week 9

  1. I like how you said you envision a Maker Day as a children’s science museum. As I read chapter 11 I kept thinking how similar my school’s family science night is to a Maker Night. Students watch and observe, but then they get to do the most important thing and that is make. I also liked what Martinez & Stager said about showing people how to do something and then let them do it.

    Like

  2. When I envisioned a maker day, I was thinking an all-day affair. I like your idea of creating a maker night. I think it would be more manageable from a planning perspective and easier to justify financially. It may also encourage doing it more than once a year. Using classrooms for presentations is a great way to utilize school resources. Science classrooms are already set up for experimentation with plenty of electrical outlets, water, sinks, and work spaces. They also have tools that may be useful depending on the projects. Using science teachers as presenters or organizers would help tremendously. They know where things are and they know how to use it. They also know the safety procedures.

    Like

  3. I also like the idea of a fluid event where participants can move freely from one activity to another. That is how we ran our math fair this past spring, and it worked out well. Allowing students to move freely alleviates the problem of whining students when they don’t like a certain activity.It also accommodates various attention spans.

    At a fluid event, one fun thing you could include is a photo corner. We did one at our math fair with silly signs and thought bubbles like, “E=mc^2,” or “A^2+B^2 = C^2.” The kids were allowed to take pictures on their phones posing with the silly math props. You could let kids use their phones or you could have an adult there to take pictures with a camera. It’s a great way to record some of the day’s happenings and participants. I envision silly props like tool belts and hard hats, or even a welder’s mask. Kids could also stop by the photo corner to get their picture taken with whatever project they’ve created.

    Like

  4. Ali- That is the way I would like to envision my maker day. An area to technology using the computers, an area with free making, an area for something else. Yes support from the principal is key. With out that support it will not be able to run. Food is always good! That is also a good idea of educational materials about makerspaces and the importance of them. I like that idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

